A Word on Facts

Rely on facts.  Or at the very least, take them into consideration.

I’m starting to recognize the benefits of this.  For three years I worked in a position that required strict adherence to deadlines.  To an extent I thrived, but because I had a hard time delineating “work” from “play,” I eventually started feeling like my personal life had become very regimented.

Which is not necessarily the most fun way to approach life.

So, as is standard of me, I then flipped to the other extreme.  And had a visceral reaction to any activity or occupation that contained a component which looked like a quantifiable benchmarks.  I preferred a process that charted individualized change over time. 

But, I finally learned, that used solely, it is also limiting.

So I’m starting to find a place in the middle where I am comfortable.  A place that is individualized to suit me but incorporates some conventional practices.

For example, it is almost noon on Tuesday.  This morning I realized that at noon today I will have worked 12 wage-earning hours, a standard place to be at this point in the week.  However, I have gotten here through a less conventional timeline.  Sunday night from 6.00 pm to 1.00 am Monday morning and then this morning from 6:00 am to 11:00 am.

It’s true that right now I don’t have a way to make up the wage-earning hours not allocated by my part-time retail job.  I’m working on that though.  But while I do, I’m glad that I am able to take pride in the fact that I’m still working 5 and 6 hour shifts.  Even if they aren’t the same everyday.

For now, this schedule suits me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

