Pillow Talk

The Technology Bright and Shiny Effect kicked in.

Today’s my first day back at my local Wake County Public Library in a while and I’m feeling the squeeze of the 45 minute time crunch.

Before I came I got organized about the things that I needed to research so that I wouldn’t waste my minutes, but as soon as I logged on…I got excited and overwhelmed.  Where do I start?  Email,  Facebook, WordPress, research topics…

And because of the enthusiasm, I’ve almost entirely blanked on what I planned to write about today.  But I think it went something like this..

MAKING HEADWAY

I’m gaining confidence on my quest to become a morning person.  Recently, I mentioned that I was looking to dial back some of my Night Owl tendencies.  I look forward to being able to function on 7 hours a sleep a night, at times conventionally considered for sleep.  I recognize that to many 7 hours of uninterrupted pillow time would be a luxury.  But at this juncture in my life I would feel quite accomplished if I could corral my hours of slumber to between midnight and 7:00 am and  maintain a high energy level the other 17 hours of the day. 

I think that I’m starting to pushed through the first Right of Passage state of surliness that comes with any disciplinary exercise.  While I know that I want to stick to my Sleep Step Down Schedule,  I have to remain cognizant of the grouchiness and irritability that gurgles to the surface when I would rather be sedentary.

I noticed that when I start to get tired, I want to address people with a tone of  sarcasm or dismission.  The urge is to say unflattering things in an effort to let others know that I’m in no mood to be trifled with.  That I’m forced to be reckoned with.

But really…who am I kidding?

I don’t want that to be my predominant attitude, what I’m known for.  Yet it takes mindfulness to remain focused on the bigger picture.  To defeat the crankiness I have to fight through it.  When I’m feeling tired I have to be even more aware of the way that I behave.  It takes a lot of mental energy in the short-term.  But I’m confident that if I can survive the battle, my sleep tonight will be more restful and tomorrow will be even better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

