Opportunity for Growth

This morning I was doing yoga again.  My neck and shoulders had so many knots that I could barely turn my head.  Has this ever happened to you?

It’s not a pleasant way to start the day.  Fortunately, the next lesson up on my DVD was the exercise that works the upper back and shoulders.  So I knew that if I could push through the discomfort, some relief would follow. 

This is a newish realization.

I used to avoid the lesson that I did today (and the one after it).  Both of them make me physically uncomfortable.  My muscles shake under the strain of the stretches and I have to struggle for each improvement.  

It’s kind of ridiculous, but it used to make me feel demoralized.  I had no patience for the limitations of my body.

Then one day, in spite of myself, I relaxed my mind enough to just concentrate on the stretch.  And as my muscles started to shake I diverted my attention.  Instead of silently berating myself for my physical weakness, I reminded myself of an instructor’s words: quivering muscles indicate dissolving tension and increasing strength. 

Two things which still sound good to me.

…and that reminder…that change of perspective allowed me to embrace the shudder that I previously considered a shortcoming.  When the 20 minutes ended and I had overcome the anxiety of the strain, I was left with a new sense of flexibility and movement in my shoulders.  It was enlightening.

And still is.

It opened my eyes to the thought that discomfort sometimes masks an opportunity for growth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

