Unforseen Pleasantries

This afternoon I meandered through an office building in DC.  After I turned a corner I did a double take.  I was walking past the man who lives across the street from my parents. 

We are several states and over a thousand miles away.  He is not here regularly.

I’m always surprised when I’m reminded how small the world actually is.

Once, when I was in college, a friend came to visit me.  On the way to passenger pick up, she encountered two other mutual friends.  They were eating at a concourse restaurant waiting out a layover.  She didn’t know that she would see them.

Not long after that I heard of some other mutual friends who brushed past each other at a metro stop in Prague.  

Prague?  Prague. 

You can guarantee that the visitors to the Czech Republic didn’t anticipate seeing someone from their past when they exited that train on the other side of the world.

I guess what I’m saying is…neat things can happen when I least expect them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

