Arms Against Complacency

Last week I unveiled my plan to get up at 7.00 am each weekday morning.  It’s going pretty well.  I’ve not been flawless, but I’ve done better than I would have without the schedule.

Like a lot seemingly insignificant decisions, there have been some unanticipated realizations.

For example, did you know that I am afraid of running out of things to do?  Because I didn’t.

I thought that I was afraid of running out of time.  Which is why I decided to start getting up at 7.00 am, I figured it would help address the issue.  I didn’t know that it would redirect it me to the real issue. 

A classic bait and switch.

The summary of David James Duncan's book claims it is "the most widely read fiction about fly fishing of our era." Since it's the only one that I have read, I would agree.

So the other night I was sitting in my chair — which is momentous because the one chair is my only proper seating — and I started making a list of things that I wanted to do.  Not a To-Do List (capitalized) per se because To Do Lists make me anxious, but a list of things that I wanted to do (lowercase) just because.  Some of them could be an avenue to advance a current project, but others are more frivolous.

I even wrote the list on a really girly, whimsical notepad to further associate it with free will.  

The header of the notepad that houses my activities list.

And this is the footer.

And it’s amazing…just knowing that there is an activity list has made me feel more comfortable about getting up at 7.00 am.  It’s a weapon in the fight against complacency.

*The notepad says Roobee, minneapolis, mn printed on the back.  However, I couldn’t find much more online information about the company.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

