Own the Morning

I am not a morning person.  During my adult life this fact has bothered me. 

Over the last few weeks, my inability to function before 11 a.m. has continued to badger me.  Giving up those precious morning hours feels like failure.  I’ve decided that my need for  an average of nine hours of sleep a night is imaginary.  It holds me back.  All this extra sleep is eating up hours that could be spent doing.

Because there are A LOT of things that I want to accomplish.  I want to own a business; I want to write a book.  To achieve both of these things I need to do research.  And since I learn through a combination of hearing, seeing, and doing, I got to get out there and hear, see, do.  So I gotta get out of bed. 

I have to take ownership of my mornings.  Today I got up at 7 a.m. and I made a commitment to do this every morning of every weekday.  It took an hour of breakfast, coffee, and flipping between the Today show and Squawk Box before I had my faculties about me.  But by 8:15 am I was ahead of my personal curve and easing into productivity.

The sun rises over Machu Picchu. A reason to meet the early morning.

These extra hours allowed me to post a new Raleigh Examiner article (complete with a link and photo!), make some Idea Notes for future articles, and write a blog post.  All before 11 a.m.

I’m going to keep this up and you are going to be amazed by what I can accomplish!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

