The Waiting Game

I had my big interview on Monday.  It went well, or I thought that it did.  News on the chosen applicant was supposed to come by the week’s end.  It’s late Friday afternoon and I still haven’t heard.  My enthusiasm is starting to wane.

I’m no stranger to anxiety, but The Waiting Game is a doozy.  Since it is so hard for me to move forward without having all the facts, I feel a certain paralysis waiting to find out if I’m the chosen applicant.  I’ve decided that it’s part of my current journey to shed preconditioned responses and that learning to move through the Waiting Game is an aspect of that.

For example, this morning I wanted to stay in bed and force time to wait for me until I heard about the position.  I know it sounds silly.  Because time.  It waits for no one. 

So while I try to interpret what radio silence means, at least I have been able to work on some other ventures.  As I mentioned in a previous post I was accepted to do writing for an online publication.  So today I worked on my second post for the Raleigh Examiner

It gives me some assurance to know that I can take the anxiety of The Waiting Game and produce something.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Waiting Game

  1. Joe

    I’ve been keeping up with your writing and wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed your posts at the Raleigh Examiner.

    I’ll be looking forward to reading more from the only person I’ve talked with that has spent this trying time striving for more than just a replacement salary in an incompatible job.

    I heard about Richmond, and thought I’d share this little life event of my own for the sake of camaraderie. I was subbing last week and while teaching government of all things had my car broken into by students. Unemployment – 1. Journeymen/women – 0…for now…

    Happy Holidays.

    • emcritt

      Joe, Thanks for your comment. (And I hope that you had a very Merry Christmas!) It’s funny that you did the scorecard, because just before I signed on, I was thinking World 1, Emily 0. I appreciate your support; it means a lot to know that others get what I’m trying to communicate. As you know, there are many nuances to being “in transition”. Hope to see you the next time I’m in DC! [Just in case anyone was curious, this Joe is not my Joe, but Joe’s college friend Joe.]

  2. I know this feeling well of late.

    Reading through your post, if find your writing interesting, look forward to coming back and reading more

Leave a Reply

