I’m Really Grateful for This

Yesterday I was able to spend time with a friend who weaves in and out of my life.  It brought me great joy to be able to sit across the table from him, share coffee, and commune.

Because except for a brief parenthesis every few years, three time zones and approximately 42 contiguous states separate us.  It is one of my greatest gifts and sadnesses that our relationship represents at least a dozen others in my life: similarities in unfamiliar circumstances brought us together and then our distinctions led us on different paths.  Fortunately, I am still given the opportunity to periodically sit with many of these friends, honor the past and nurture what still exists.

In this season of thanks and remembrance, I am really grateful for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

