More Baskets

I’m an “all my eggs in one basket” type of girl. 

This probably shouldn’t surprise me considering I also “can’t see the forest because of the trees”.

I don’t want to be this way anymore.  I’ve decided that it is limiting. 

All of this has been made more apparent since arriving in Raleigh.  I came to a place where I knew one person, had no idea where I was going, and without a job.  In an effort to fill some time, I applied for some sales associate jobs and attended a volunteer orientation, introduced myself to some friends of friends…all basic.  All “getting acquainted” type of tasks.  (I also went to a seminar in which I thought I was going to learn a lot and almost got schemed, but that is a story for another day.)  I’ve even applied for some choice, full-time, real-work type of positions.  Both here and in DC. 

But now…now things are starting to, like, happen. 

I’m slowly eeking past the Waiting on Responses stage of things and slowly moving into the Make Decisions, There Is a Choice of What to Do stage of things.  Some decisions are easy.  Yes, I am going to meet new people for wings or pizza.  And yes, I’m going to go on coffee dates.  I look forward to those outings.  But when things start to involve jobs and bigger (imagine me circling my hands in large “out there” rotations) possibilities, I start to get anxious.

It’s silly.  I’m aware. 

But I’m also aware that I can reprogram myself so that anxiety doesn’t come at the heels of these otherwise insignificant activities.  I do that by following through with all the possibilities, even if there are multiple options.  If I’m honest (and I am) and I make decisions out of a place of integrity (which I can do), I can manage the different choices and don’t have to put all my eggs in one basket.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

