Something to Gain

This morning I’ve been thinking a lot about discipline.  Primarily the fact that I have none.  Nein, zilch, nada.  Absolutely, none.

This is a recent observation.  Because until…well, this morning actually…I probably would have said that I was actually quite disciplined.  After all, I’ve always been able to do the things that others have required of me.  So if I can do that, I should be able to consider myself disciplined, right?

Hmmm…maybe not.  Because what good is discipline if I can’t employ it when no one is telling me what I should be doing?  What is my discipline made of if I can’t use it discover and follow my own path. Chew on that for a while.

I think.  I ponder and analyze.  In part, I do this to find my personal deficiencies that transfer across the different aspects of life — like lack of discipline.  Because once I know what’s missing, I’ll work hard to get it.  Not because I like the thought of discipline.  It sounds like force and a lot of hard work.  But I’d rather walk on my hands backwards for the rest of my life than not have it.  Because the people that I consider successful, balanced, and satisfied all have discipline as a common trait.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

