Working on a Blueprint

I’ve said before that I think that it is important to get clear about what I want.  Well, I just realized that I don’t always put that into practice myself.  Ok, I usually don’t.

I took most of my stuff down to Raleigh last weekend and unloaded it at my friend’s house.  And then came back up to D.C. to wrap up a few things and finish out my part-time, temporary job.  Well, my project wrapped up earlier than expected and this development has left me with about a week and a half of free time on my hands.  Which begs the question, “How am I going to use the next 10 days?”

It’s overcast so I decided against going to the pool.  Big sigh.  Feeling like Eeyore, I chose to investigate the Raleigh job market.  (Why do all the things that need to be done to get what I want always feel like major chores?) 

But it didn’t take very long before I realized that I was looking at the same types of positions that I always see when I’m doing online investigating.  About 10 minutes in, I started to get a headache.  In part because it seems like no matter what job search engine I use and what city I search, all the postings are the same.  And for crying out loud, I don’t want to be a Sales Manager

Have the last 9 months taught me nothing?

Why, yes, they actually have.  They have taught me that I have to get clear about what I want.  So before I go about willy-nilly applying for jobs and becoming cross-eyed from online applications, I’m at least going to do the good work of getting my thoughts focused on what I would like to do and where.

Probably in a totally ideal world (today), I would work on a college campus.  I think that I’ve said this before also, but I do love a good college campus.  And by “good” I mean “existing”.  Just some professors, some students, and a few old, brick buildings; I’d be all set.  Throw in a courtyard or quad of some description and it’d be even better.

Ok…so there is one backdrop option, but that doesn’t really advance the ball on a job description.

I’ve been beating the drum about being a writer and while I plan to maintain that goal, I think that I’m going to reposition it as a more long-term plan.  For now it seems prudent to focus on a full-time job with something that resembles a steady paycheck.

And if I had my druthers (does anyone actually know what a “druther” is), I would want to the do the following things with a job:  I would like to have the opportunity to read [information] and synthesize it into [documents] that contain guidelines to help educate others.  I’d also like to have the opportunity to present the information that I analyzed.  I prefer to work on projects by myself; however, I like when the piece that I’m working on is part of a larger [theme or idea] that requires a little collaboration with others.

…it’s not a lot, but it’s a start.  And that at least is something.

(So all the [square brackets]…I use those when I’m writing rough drafts and what comes to mind is not quite the thought or the idea that I want to express, but it’s the only word or phrase that I can come up with.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

