An Adjustment of Tactic

One of my themes recently has been:  Be a Moving Target.

It’s a good thing I’m not a four-year-old lost in the mall.  I’d never be found. 

This mantra is taking an open mind and a willingness to make some adjustments mid-stride.  Something that I do with varying levels of success. 

And one of the things that is getting some tweaking is the blog.  Or better stated:  the way that I think about the blog is getting a makeover.  When I first started writing I would post updates on my Facebook page or as a status on chats to help garner followers, but over the last few weeks I’ve felt like a doctor ramming a tongue depressor down readers’ throats.  And maybe part of the recent anxiety is the fact that I have been obsessing over how many views Transition Therapy receives as compared to what I imagine some well known, longer running blogs get.  (This is not the first time that I have compared apples to oranges and it probably won’t be the last.) 

I was starting to feel like a slave to blog stats which has not been me at my coolest.  And I feel like it’s taken something away from the quality or authenticity of my writing.  Because if nothing else, I know that I want to be authentic.

So, all this to say that I’m going to roll out fewer banners when Transition Therapy has been updated.  (At least until I feel it time to reconsider this again.)  I’m still going to be here.  Still going to be writing with the same consistency.  Just not going to be as in your face about it.  I think that this will help me refocus on what I’m doing and why I’m doing it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

