The Absurdity of Me

So twice this week I have caught myself saying something to the effect of, “So…I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty good at this.”

You can drop your jaw.  It’s wildly absurd I know.  Because I would say, that overall, I’m not a cocky person.  For the most part (unless we know each other well and I’m largely kidding) I don’t go around spewing these verbal affirmations.  When I hear them I get suspicious.  And when I use them myself I also get suspicious.  But this overtness happens and its happened to me twice in about five days.

The first time it was almost totally harmless.  I was at Joe’s inter-office league softball game and they needed an extra girl.  They were seeking a pitcher and I have some experience on the mound with a slow pitch softball.  I stepped up to serve the team but not before saying, “I’m not going to lie, I’m a pretty good pitcher.”  Today, I’m only slightly embarrassed that my comment was notable enough to make the game recap email.  Because really…who says something like that?

But today, I really out did myself.  And I’m close to mortified.  So I had a phone interview this morning.  I do not feel like I am at my best during a phone interview.  For one, I’m a visual person.  Unless we are sitting next to each other, I would rather communicate with people over email than talk on the phone.  I want to see what is going on.  As I mentioned in a previous post, interviews don’t really make me nervous, but my stomach starts to flutter over a phone interview. 

About twenty minutes in…when focusing took every ounce of concentration that I had, the interviewer asks, “So what would you say your weaknesses would be in this position?”  And before I could step on my mind to mouth brake, I found myself saying, “Honestly, I do this type of work really well.  I think I’m really qualified.” 

I’m pausing so you can pick your jaw up again.  I’m really not sure who was more stunned.

Luckily, this was not the interview for the Current Dream Job.  But if I have learned anything over the past round of phone interviews, it is that they are not my thing.  This is not my first verbal gaffe.  My fingers are crossed that my Current Dream Job hiring squad is in-person interview type of folks. 

Supposedly, I’ll hear back from this morning’s interview sometime next week, but I’m not really holding my breath.  If you have an embarrassing interview story, I sure would appreciate it if you shared. You can either leave it in the comments or use the email: transitiontherapy@gmail.com.  I think humility loves company too.

(By the way, Joe’s team won the softball game!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

