All Tree, No Forest

I already lost this thought once, so I want to get it down before it escapes me again:

Earlier today I reread the previous blog post in it’s entirety.  (Speaking candidly though, I have reread the Jack Kerouac quote about 56 times since yesterday.  I love it that much.)  And this statement struck me  (I will pause for you to roll your eyes while I prepare to quote myself.  However, I won’t italicize it because that would be over the top, even for me):

The first step is going to be to get a job that will sustain me with the energy, time, and money that I need to further explore some bubbling interests.

And all of sudden, I found myself saying to myself, “You have a job that gives you the energy, time, and money to explore other interests!  It’s part-time and temporary!  How much more time or energy do you need?” 

Good grief…talk about a case of “can’t see the forest because of the trees”.  What else am I waiting for?

Literally, I could stand inside of the trunk.

Literally, I could stand inside of the trunk.

* Yes, I did take a picture of a tree.  It is either the oldest or tallest tree in the Peruvian part of the Amazon.  (I can’t remember which, maybe both.)  It looks kind of deceiving here, but the tree was so big I could literally stand inside of the trunk.  Notice: more tree than forest.  Fitting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

