Intoxication

Transition can create an intoxicating aroma of invincibility.

It seems so amazingly improbable, but here I am today, another few weeks into my third unemployment in three years…

And. I. Feel. Good.

I feel, “Today, I am living up to my potential.”  I can reflect on the past few hours and be confident of time well spent:  I was up early this morning so that I could volunteer for a few hours which enabled me to share breakfast with Joe.  Then, after I got my car stuck and unstuck — not to mention both lost and found (directionally) — I fixed lunch, responded to emails and applied for jobs.  All while knocking out some overdo DVR viewing.  Can’t you just feel the day’s crescendo? 

And it isn’t over yet.  I still have reading, dinner, training, and The Biggest Loser.

Did I ever doubt my ability to multitask?  Was there ever a time I thought that I did not deserve personal cheerleaders?  If the London Olympics were tomorrow, I know that I would succeed in achieving my dream of being both the female Michael Phelps and the taller Shawn Johnson.  (I just hope the two arenas are close.)

Smile.  Groan.  Laugh, but some days under the umbrella of unemployment are not good.  Not good at all.  So when the wave of positive energy swells behind me, I have to jump on my boogie board and relish the swooshing forward.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Intoxication

  1. Rebekah

    I think that you have the right to do whatever you need to make yourself happy, and if it means blogging, thank you for allowing me to still be apart of your life. I love you, Time!

  2. Lindsey

    I like this outlet for stage 3. Keep going…Gooo Emily! (Imagine me doing a pike jump…now stop laughing at the visual)

Leave a Reply

